SNAP Benefits 2024: Storm-Affected Residents to Receive Replacement Applications, Extended Deadline

By Madz Dizon

May 14, 2024 03:50 AM EDT

SNAP Benefits 2024: Storm-Affected Residents to Receive Replacement Applications, Extended Deadline(Justin Sullivan/Getty Images) (Credit: Getty Image)

More households in counties affected by severe storms will now be able to submit Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) replacement applications.

Extended Deadline for SNAP Replacement in Oklahoma After Storms

Oklahoma Human Services is providing support to SNAP households affected by power outages caused by the April 27 storms and beyond.

Typically, SNAP customers are given a 10-day window to request a replacement of their SNAP benefits.

Nevertheless, the agency has obtained approval from the United States Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (USDA-FNS) to grant customers extra time to report their food loss.

As per the announcement, a significant number of individuals who rely on the SNAP program in the storm-affected regions experienced food loss because of prolonged power outages.

MSN reported that clients have until May 28 to submit a request for replacement of their April benefits.

READ NEXT: Scam Warning: This is the Most Common Time People Were Likely to Get Victimized

Steps to Apply for SNAP and Replace Benefit Cards

For individuals who do not receive SNAP benefits: To apply for SNAP benefits, please follow the necessary steps, according to FOX23

If you are unable to complete the application online, you can also make an application by proxy over the phone by calling 405-522-5050.

Individuals who are in need of a replacement card for their food benefit can do so by reaching out to 1-888-328-6551, visiting their local county office or the Mobile Office in person, or requesting online.

Here is a list of the additional counties that have been approved due to storm damage:

  • Blaine
  • Cleveland
  • Comanche
  • Craig
  • Custer
  • Johnson
  • Kingfisher
  • McClain
  • Okmulgee
  • Osage
  • Ottawa
  • Pittsburg
  • Pottawatomie
  • Tillman
  • Wagoner
  • Washington
  • Washita

The list of 12 counties that were granted replacement benefits consisted of:

  • Carter
  • Cotton
  • Garfield
  • Hughes
  • Kay
  • Lincoln
  • Love
  • Murray
  • Okfuskee
  • Oklahoma
  • Payne
  • Pontotoc

READ MORE: Major US Healthcare Network Forced to Divert Ambulances From Hospitals Amid Cyberattack

© 2024 VCPOST, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics